John F. Brock III School Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Apppointed



First appointments approved for Brock Chairs

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia recently approved initial appointments to a newly endowed faculty chair.

Professor David S. Sholl was appointed the John F. Brock III School Chair in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (ChBE). Sholl, who has served as ChBE school chair since 2013, previously held the Michael

E. Tennenbaum Family Chair and serves as the Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Energy Sustainability.

As the Brock School Chair, Sholl oversees a school that is ranked in the nation’s top 10 most prominent programs of its kind in both graduate and undergraduate education. Before joining the Tech faculty in 2008, Sholl had been a faculty member at Carnegie Mellon University. He previously served as associate director of Georgia Tech’s Strategic Energy Institute.

Sholl holds an undergraduate degree in theoretical physics from the Australian National University and a Ph.D. in applied mathematics from the University of Colorado, Boulder. He conducted postdoctoral research at both Yale University and Pennsylvania State University. His research group has published in the areas of computational materials modeling, porous materials for carbon capture applications, membranes for gas separations, and heterogeneous catalysis. Sholl has published more than 220 papers with more than 7,000 citations and has given more than 160 invited conference talks and seminars.